Board of Trustees

Utah Symphony | Utah Opera’s Board of Trustees has the ultimate responsibility for the success of the Utah Symphony, Utah Opera, and the Deer Valley® Music Festival. Trustees are accountable for the governance of the parent corporation, Utah Symphony & Opera, for establishing the overall vision and mission, and for participating in the development and monitoring of institutional plans. Trustees have a legal and fiduciary responsibility to assure that the organization does the best work possible in pursuit of its mission and goals; fundraising is a principal component of that responsibility. Trustees must exhibit a passion for great live musical experiences in our community.

2019-20 BOARD MEETING SCHEDULE By-Laws Mission, Vision, and Values Statement

Minutes from Last Annual Meeting Minutes from Last Board Meeting

Elected Trustees

Executive Committee

  • Thomas M. Love

    President, Love Communications

  • Kem C. Gardner
    Immediate Past Chair

    Chairman, Gardner Company

  • Paul Meecham
    President & CEO
    Utah Symphony | Utah Opera

  • Jesselie B. Anderson

    Vice Chair
    Government Relations Committee Chair
    Community Leader

  • Doyle L. Arnold

    Vice Chair
    Investment Committee Chair (retired) Vice Chairman & CFO
    Zions Bancorporation

  • Joanne Shiebler

    Vice Chair
    (retired) President and Founder
    Asset Communications, Inc.

  • Annette W. Jarvis

    Board Secretary
    Governance Committee Chair
    Partner, Dorsey & Whitney LLP

  • John D’Arcy

    Finance Committee Chair
    (retired) Executive Vice-President
    Zions Bank

  • David L. Dee

    Development Committee Chair
    President, David Dee Fine Arts, LLC
    Co-Chair, Lawrence T. Dee & Janet T. Dee Foundation

  • Andrew Larson

    Musician Representative
    Utah Symphony

  • William H. Nelson

    Audit Committee Chair
    (retired) President & CEO
    Intermountain Health Care

  • Patricia A. Richards

    Music Director Search Committee Chair
    (Retired) Senior Vice President and Regional Manager, Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.


  • Julie Aiken
    (retired) President Ameritech College of Healthcare

  • Judith M. Billings
    (retired) Utah Court of Appeals Judge

  • Gary L. Crocker
    President, Crocker Ventures, LLC
    Chairman, Merrimack Pharmaceuticals

  • Alex J. Dunn
    Vivint Inc.

  • Brian Greeff
    Managing Director, Operations
    Goldman Sachs & Co., Salt Lake City

  • Stephen Tanner Irish
    Academic Researcher
    Board of Directors, O.C. Tanner Company
    Trustee, Tanner Lectures on Human Values

  • Thomas N. Jacobson
    Private Practice

  • Mitra Kashanchi
    Refinery General Manager
    Chevron Salt Lake Refinery

  • Abigail E. Magrane
    Senior Counsel
    Dominion Energy

  • Brad W. Merrill
    Snell & Wilmer

  • Robin J. Milne
    General Manager
    Promontory Club

  • Judy Moreton
    Community Leader

  • Dr. Dinesh C. Patel
    Managing Director and Founder,
    Patel Family Investments
    Founder and Partner Emeritus
    Signal Peak Ventures (FKA vSpring Capital)

  • Frank R. Pignanelli
    Foxley & Pignanelli

  • Gary B. Porter
    Senior Vice President, Deseret Management Corporation
    Community Relations, Human Resources, Executive Director, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Foundation

  • Shari H. Quinney
    Arts Advocate and Philanthropist

  • Miguel R. Rovira
    Director Community and Business Relations
    Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Utah

  • Naoma Tate
    Arts Advocate and Philanthropist

  • Thomas Thatcher
    Chief Executive Officer
    Intuitive Funding, LLC

  • W. James Tozer  
    Managing Director
    Vectra Management Goup

  • David Utrilla 
    US Translation Company

  • Kelly Ward
    Region President
    Zions Bank Central Utah Region

  • Kim R. Wilson
    (retired) Attorney
    Snow Christensen & Martineau

  • Thomas Wright
    President and Principal Broker
    Summit Sotheby’s Int’l Realty

  • Henry C. Wurts
    Financial Consultant

Ex-Officio Representatives

  • Mark Stratford
    Onstage Ogden
  • Doyle Clayburn
    Utah Symphony Guild

Lifetime Trustees

  • William C. Bailey
  • Edwin B. Firmage
  • Kem C. Gardner
  • Jon Huntsman, Jr.
  • G. Frank Joklik
  • Clark D. Jones
  • Herbert C. Livsey, Esq.
  • David T. Mortensen
  • Scott S. Parker
  • David A. Petersen
  • Patricia A. Richards
  • Harris Simmons
  • Verl R. Topham
  • M. Walker Wallace
  • David B. Winder


Trustees Emeriti

  • Carolyn Abravanel
  • Dr. J. Richard Baringer
  • Haven J. Barlow
  • John Bates
  • Howard S. Clark
  • Kristen Fletcher
  • Burton L. Gordon
  • Richard G. Horne
  • Ronald W. Jibson
  • E. Jeffery Smith
  • Barbara Tanner


Honorary Board

  • Kathryn Carter
  • R. Don Cash
  • Bruce L. Christensen
  • Raymond J. Dardano
  • Geralyn Dreyfous
  • Lisa Eccles
  • Spencer F. Eccles
  • The Right Reverend Carolyn Tanner Irish
  • Dr. Anthony W. Middleton, Jr.
  • Edward B. Moreton
  • Marilyn H. Neilson
  • O. Don Ostler
  • Stanley B. Parrish
  • Marcia Price
  • David E. Salisbury
  • Jeffrey W. Shields, Esq.
  • Diana Ellis Smith

Deer Valley® Music Festival

Executive Council

  • Jim Tozer, Chair
  • Scott Amann
  • Beth Armstrong
  • Judy Billings
  • Hal Brierley
  • Judy Brownstein
  • Larry Brownstein
  • Kristen Fletcher
  • Greg Graham
  • Martin Greenberg
  • Tom Jacobson
  • Debra Kasirer
  • Bill Ligety
  • Renee Marlon
  • Tony Marlon
  • Charles McEvoy
  • Pat McEvoy
  • Dan McPhun
  • Paul Meecham
  • Robin Milne
  • Mark Prothro
  • Alice Puleo
  • Frank Puleo
  • Ted Samuels
  • Ben Schapiro
  • Joanne Shiebler
  • James R. Swartz
  • Susan Swartz
  • Zibby Tozer
  • Howard Wallack

Deer Valley® Music Festival Advisory Council

  • Lynn Fey
  • Michael Liess
  • Hal Milner
  • Lois Milner

Deer Valley® Music Festival Ex-Officio Council

  • Ben Castro
  • Hadley Dynak
  • Jeffrey Jones
  • Jodie Rogers

National Advisory Council

  • Joanne F. Shiebler, Chair (Utah)
  • David L. Brown (S. California)
  • Anthon S. Cannon, Jr. (S. California)
  • Susan H. Carlyle (Texas)
  • Robert Dibblee (Virginia)
  • Senator Orrin G. Hatch (Washington D.C.)
  • Harold W. Milner (Nevada)
  • Marcia Price (Utah)